Home > Blogging > How Important Is It To Have Your Picture On Your Blog?

How Important Is It To Have Your Picture On Your Blog?

photo on blog

To Mugshot or Not To Mugshot? – That is the Mugshot

I suspect it is important to add a photo of yourself to your blog, especially if you’re a model or something super like that. So should ‘regular Joes’ stick a mugshot on our blogs? Here’s my thoughts on the subject for what it’s worth.

  • All the top bloggers do it so there must be something behind it (Darren Rowse, Yaro Starak are two)
  • People recognize you after a while and may be more inclined to stop and read your posts
  • Stalkers have something to…eh…focus on!? – Hey, stalkers are people too!

I recently added a photo of myself to the header image of my blog because it was quick and easy to do. I haven’t the time to customise the entire site at the moment (I’m lucky if I find the time to get even a couple of posts out a week!). So it’s a little bit of easy customisation, I wonder will anyone even notice, or care?

How To Put A Face On Blogging

If you’re new to blogging and if your blog is hosted with WordPress, rather than a private server, and you haven’t customized it so far, why not do the same? In your WordPress Dashboard go click the ‘Presentation‘ button and then click ‘Custom Image Header‘, the rest is a piece of cake, you’ll figure it out.

Put your photo in your header image and comment this post with your URL! There’s no time limit. Looking forward to seeing you all soon!

Categories: Blogging
  1. gulfcoastpolo
    July 27, 2007 at 2:25 am

    I do it so I dont have the shadow of a computer version of myself

  2. cliftonlee724
    July 27, 2007 at 2:39 am

    I just put mine in a text widget so that it would be in the side bar, and put a link to my facebook below that so people could get a look at a basic profile. My blog is by no means big, but I figured that was a good way to get a picture in.

  3. cliftonlee724
    July 27, 2007 at 2:40 am

    Forgot the URL. You can check it out at lackingtranslation.wordpress.com.

  4. July 27, 2007 at 2:44 am

    Oh alright. Why not? Nice smile, by the way (not to imply that you’re compliment fishing).
    my blog’s been mugshot

  5. July 27, 2007 at 2:52 am

    Well hell, the URL didn’t take. I’ll just have to post again. After all, the ulterior motive all along was to build some links. And then you build some comments in the process. It’s all good, right? 🙂

    http://filmpublicityhelp.wordpress.com/

  6. cowgalutah
    July 27, 2007 at 2:59 am

    ok but can ugly people leave a photo of their dog?

  7. July 27, 2007 at 3:15 am

    A professional photograph is best. If you can’t upload a good picture of yourself, a logo is second best. Everyone should have an avatar.

    Here’s why I say that unequivocally: without an avatar, you soon won’t be able to be featured on the wordpress.com home page and other places.

    If you don’t have an avatar already, go to your profile page and upload one right now.

  8. July 27, 2007 at 3:28 am

    I don’t know about you, but I think my pic does the trick… 🙂

  9. July 27, 2007 at 3:39 am

    Interesting… especially considering that many bloggers here at WordPress don’t even have a user icon.

    In fact, I just put up my user icon as a temp… as for putting my lovely face on my website… well, I have a really good looking friend. Maybe I’ll put her face on (even though its not me AND I’m a guy)

  10. derbytude
    July 27, 2007 at 3:49 am

    I use my Chucks. I’ve gotten into a weird habit of taking pictures of my feet where ever I go.. I’m not sure why.
    That, and I’m not so keen on my face. I’d rather see my sweet Chucks lookin’ back at me when I log in. 🙂

  11. onesorryblog
    July 27, 2007 at 3:57 am

    i put my photo up as my avatar and on the about page, but One Sorry Blog has a custom header. keep up the good work!

  12. July 27, 2007 at 6:47 am

    Here’s to the beautiful people…and chucks…and wildlife?

    Thanks for the response and jgapublicity’s observation above is correct, I was looking for some comments and looking to share the love with some links for you guys. Sure as my grandmother used to say, “why the hell not?”

    While you’re at it why not check out each others blogs, a stranger is a friend you haven’t met yet. Unfortunately some links didn’t take, not sure why?

    BTW, not only should ugly people use a picture of their dog, I insist they do! 🙂 As for using a good looking girls picture instead of your own, well I won’t argue with that.

    Keep them coming!

    Good luck, and just keep on blogging!

  13. derbytude
    July 27, 2007 at 4:04 pm

    I also threw a custom header up there a while back. Nothing fancy, but a cropping of an old, old picture that I liked.

    Also not sure why my link didn’t show up..

    http://www.derbytude.wordpress.com

    It’s not so much about my chucks, as much as it is about roller derby & fitness. 😉

    Happy Blogging!

  14. cliftonlee724
    July 27, 2007 at 7:01 pm

    Sorry, I guess I’m just awful at the blogging and commenting stuff. Here’s a proper link with the html and all that jazz taken care of. Lacking Translation

    And if that didn’t work… sorry, guess I have a lot more to learn.

  15. July 30, 2007 at 10:50 am

    Hello all, thought you might be interested to hear the amount of traffic this post got on the day it was published. 528 visits! I’m going to write a post about how I went from around 20 visits to 528 in one day! Stay tuned.

    BTW, Keep the custom headers coming, some are very tasteful. And best to put your link in the body of the comment as some of the folk above have done.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment