Home > Blogging > Free Link For Your Thoughts

Free Link For Your Thoughts

February 24, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

I want to know what you think.

There’s a Free Link in it for you.

Read on.

Spring is here and my thoughts have turned to blogging…

…and there’s a lot to do! I just updated my About page (after 10 months!) and in so doing I was reminded why I started blogging in the first place. Actually it’s worth reading to fully understand where I’m going with this post.

My reasons (totally selfish) still apply after 10 months of on-off blogging. So there’s a number of steps I have to take to reach those goals.

Get A Free Link – Limited Time Offer

I could do with a little help with taking this blog to the next level (out of the gutter) so if anyone can make a useful suggestion or two (or a useless but hilarious suggestion) I sure would be grateful. There’s a FREE LINK in it for you.

Here’s how to claim your FREE LINK. Make some useful suggestions in the comments below to claim your free link. 😉

Okay here’s the list of questions and thoughts you can help me clarify:

  • Should I get a private domain name to replace https://webtooltips.wordpress.com or stick with what I have?
  • I was thinking of designing a custom layout and would probably switch the site to my own server. I know there is an import option to bring this blog post over. Are there any problems I can expect when doing this?
  • I know WordPress is not to fond of PPC ads and so on, should I switch platform entirely or will this be less of an issue if I’m working from my own server?
  • Will I lose page rank if I switch to my own server or can I write a redirect?
  • Open to advice, there’s a lot that could be improved here, what would you suggest?

So you know what to do.

Claim your FREE LINK now!

And remember, no matter how hard it gets…Just Keep Blogging!

  1. brenthodgson
    March 6, 2008 at 1:52 am

    Definitely host on your own domain name.

    It will give you significantly more control over your WordPress, and mean you can build an asset for yourself in your own website.

    Import all of your posts too – then go to webtooltips.wordpress.com and add a link from there to the new version of the posts. This will help to get posts indexed, and hopefully prevent duplicate content issues.

    Create a new post on your homepage explaining that you’ve moved to a new blog location (include a link).

    You can’t set up a redirect from wordpress.com, and you will lose your Page Rank (you’ll start afresh again).

    One of the big benefits of being on wordpress.com is you get some leverage – you leverage the reputation of the wordpress.com domain, and the linking that a wordpress.com domain gives you by default.

    When your PR drops, you lose this, and chances are your Page Rank will be low for a little while, and may require additional effort to build up to your current levels. But using something like Blog Carnivals as a linking strategy, you will pick a PR 3/10 pretty quickly.

    PPC ads (Google Adsense ads) aren’t an issue if you’re hosting your own website on your own server with your own domain.

    Here’s someone who did it before:
    http://blogpond.com.au/
    http://blogpond.wordpress.com/

    Meg made the move aages ago, and had the same questions and issues you did.

    I hope this helps!

    Brent

  2. March 6, 2008 at 9:25 am

    Hi Brent, thanks for the feedback. The examples are perfect and helps illustrates your point on switching to a personal domain. Cheers.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

